IJA |Web
IJA logo

To render assistance
to fellow jugglers
International Jugglers' Association


This is an archived website

For current information visit https:juggle.org

Previous minutes: Mar. 15, 2006 | List of available minutes | Next minutes: May 17, 2006

IJA Board Meeting - April 19, 2006

1. CALL TO ORDER: David Davis called the meeting to order at 8:09 pm Eastern time.


Present: David Davis, chair; Tim Furst, Joyce Howard, Kim Laird, Jerry Martin, Jim Maxwell, Bob Neuman, board members; Sandy Brown, board nominee; John Satriano, Regional Fests Coordinator; Stan Allen, Publisher JUGGLE magazine; Mike Sullivan, Membership Coordinator; Katje Sabin, 2006 Festival Coordinator

Absent: None

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA: Agenda approved by unanimous consent.

4. PREVIOUS MINUTES: Minutes of the March 15, 2006 meeting approved by unanimous consent.


JUGGLE magazine - Stan Allen is offering to publish 2 additional issues (through Nov/Dec 2006) beyond the present contract at a cost of $13,666 per issue (currently $10,666). He requests favor of a response within 30 days.

Finances - Kim reports balances from Paypal and Netbank accounts.

Festivals - no report

Championships / Competitions - no report

Operations/Volunteers/Organization - no report

Store - no report


Volunteer Letter - David Davis reported development is ongoing. No motion presented at this time.

MMCC proposal - Bob Neuman moves to accept the MMCC proposal pending legal counsel. Motion approved by unanimous consent.


Kim Laird moves for the board to grant permission to Andrew Conway to obtain a credit/debit card through Netbank for use by the 2006 festival coordinator, Katje Sabin. Motion approved by unanimous consent.

Maggie Klappauf has volunteered to be Chief Teller. Bob Neuman moves to appoint Maggie Klappauf as Chief Teller for the 2006 IJA election. Motion approved by unanimous consent.

Tim Furst suggests that we discuss changing the bylaws to make the board term 3 years instead of 2 years, and consider moving to 9 board members. instead of 7. The board agrees that the item should be considered by the subsequent board. No motion presented at this time.

Joyce Howard moves that we create an IJA Acknowledgement and Awards Committee and appoint Bob Neuman to chair and populate said committee. Motion approved by unanimous consent.

Kim Laird moves that the board appoint John Satriano as 2007 fest coordinator thereby giving him all rights to proceed with plans, contracts, special guests, and all pertinent details of the 2007 IJA fest in Winston-Salem, NC. Motion approved by unanimous consent.

Katje had a proposal about comps for the festival. Katje will continue fleshing out this proposal on the forum and present the board with an estimate of actual costs. No motion presented at this time.

Mike Sullivan has made a proposal for the membership transition plan. Bob Neuman moves to appoint Jim Maxwell and Scott Seltzer as Membership Co-coordinators with transitioning effective immediately. Motion approved by unanimous consent.

Discussion ensued about communication including 1) who should be on boardplus email distribution and forum and 2) spam control and publishing our email addresses on the web site. No motion presented at this time.

8. NEXT MEETING: Next meeting will be held 8 pm Eastern time May 17, 2006.

9. ADJOURNMENT: Bob moved to adjourn. Meeting was adjourned at 10:02 p.m. Eastern time by unanimous consent.

Respectfully submitted,
Jim Maxwell

Previous minutes: Mar. 15, 2006  | List of available minutes | Next minutes: May 17, 2006
copyright info

IJA ezine eJuggle!

IJA Facebook

IJA youTube

IJA Juggling.tv
copyright info
Site design credits